2008 Research

AzRISE First-Year Poster Session

AzRISE presents a First-Year Poster Review.

Funding for this program:


  • ABOR Arizona Solar Energy Initiative (TRIF)
  • University of Phoenix
  • Southwest Solar Technologies
  • Department of Energy
  • Tucson Electric Company
  • Arizona Public Service
  • Salt River Project
  • Tucson Regional Economic Opportunity
  • General Plasma Inc.
  • Arizona Institute for Renewable Energy
  • Cox Communications

AzRISE collaborates with and supports:

  • More than 60 students
  • 15 Departments with 5 Colleges
  • 15 external sponsors, utilities and government agencies

AzRISE General

  1. Comment on the Networking Breakfast and First-Year Poster Review – Joe Simmons and Ardeth Barnhart
  2. AzRISE Brief
  3. News Report – Ed Stiles
  4. The Arizona Research Institute for Solar Energy – Joseph H. Simmons and Ardeth M. Barnhart (AzRISE and MSE Department
  5. AzRISE Highlights – Meredith Aronson (AzRISE and MSE Department)
  6. Arizona Solar Energy, Economics and Public Policy Outlook – Ardeth M. Barnhart, William P. Patton, Stan Reynolds, George Frisvold, Dave Berry, Wayne Shirley, Amanda Ormond, John Madocks, Barry Broome, Tom Hansen, Lon Huber, Benjamin Lyons, Jordan Lillie and Ruchika Agrawal (AzRISE, Economic and Business Research Center, Economics Department, Ag and Resources Economics, Western Resources Advocates, Regulatory Assistance Project, Ormond Group, General Plasma, Greater Phoenix Economic Council, Eller School of Management, Bi-National Institute, Arizona Water Institute, ChEE Department, Biosphere 2, New Mexico University)
  7. Solar Possibilities for Arizona Homeowners, Students and Businesses – Lon Huber (Eller School of Management)

Photovoltaic Studies

  1. RF-Sputtered Ge-ITO Nanocomposite Thin Films for Photovoltaic Applications – G. Shih, T. Bukowski, F. G. Potter, Jr. and J. H. Simmons (MSE Department and Optical Sciences College.
  2. Application of Electromagnetic Full-Wave Modeling for Porous Silicon Photovoltaic Devices – Christin Lundgren Loychik, Kelly Simmons-Potter and Kathleen L. Melde (ECE Department)
  3. Charge Transfer in Excitonic Solar Cells – Laura K. Schirra, Michael L. Blumenfeld, Mary P. Steele, Brandon S. Tackett and Oliver L. A. Monti (Chemistry Department)
  4. Spectroelectrochemical Characterization of Charge Injection Processes in Thin films on ITO: 1) poly(3,4 ethylenedioxythiophene)/poly(styrenesulfonate) (PEDOT/PSS);
  5. 2) tethered CdSe Nanoparticles – Zeynep Ozkan Araci, R. Clayton Shallcross, Neal R. Armstrong and S. Scott Saavedra (Chemistry Department)
  6. Characterization of Charge Injection in Thin Films of Tethered Semiconductor (CdSe) Nanoparticles on Transparent Conducting Oxides: Essential Steps in Sensitization of New Photovoltaic and Solar Fuel-Producing Energy Conversion Systems – Zeynep Ozkan Araci, Clayton Shallcross, Brooke Beam, Neal R. Armstrong and S. Scott Saavedra (Chemistry Department)
  7. Semiconducting SWCNT’s as Nano-Pillars for Improved Efficiency in Organic Photovoltaics – Konstantin Yamnitskiy, Yekaterina Shtyrkova, Palash Gangopadhyay, Jayan Thomas, Ramakrishna Voorakaranam, Robert A. Norwood and Nasser Peyghambarian (Optical Sciences College and MSE Department)
  8. Nanoimprinting for Organic Solar Cell Fabrication – Palash Gangopadhyay, Jayan Thomas, Robert A. Norwood and Nasser Peyghambarian (Optical Sciences College)
  9. New Solar System Sealants by Plasma Polymerization – Stephanie Tolbert and Douglas A. Loy (MSE and Chemistry Departments)

Systems Studies

  1. Automated Photovoltaic Cell Characterization System – A. Guilmo, J. Roberts, K. Yamnitzkiy, P. A. Blanche, R. A. Norwood, N. Peyghambarian, M. Fallahi (Optical Sciences College)
  2. Weather Effects on Solar Power Production – W. C. Conant, N. Johnson and A. Wonaschutz (Atmospheric Sciences Department)
  3. Holographic Planar Concentrator – Raymond K. Kostuk, Brian Myer and John Brownlee and Glenn Rosenberg (ECE and Physics Departments and Prism Solar)
  4. Optical Metrology of Solar Reflector Panels with a High Density Hartmann Sensor – Eduardo Bendek (Optical Sciences College)
  5. Testing a Full Aperture f/4.0 Solar dish – James Johnson, Jim Burge and Roger Angel (Optical Sciences College)
  6. TEP Solar Test Yard Research – A. Cronin, V. Lonij, N. Davidson, R. Price, R. Kostuk, W. Conant and W. Henry (Physics, ECE and Atmospheric Sciences Department, Optical Sciences College and Tucson Electric Power)

Energy Storage

  1. Solar Energy Storage Using Compressed Air in Geologic Repositories – Ben Sternberg, Phil Stokes, Lianyang Zhang, Saeed Ahmari, Steve Dvorak, Joseph Simmons, Herb Hayden, Sonya Dancoe, Ed Nowatzki, Randy Post, Naresh Samtani, Shoba Maraj, Nick Barbato and Sarah Grubaugh (Laboratory for Advanced Subsurface Imaging, CEEM, ECE, MSE, MGE and Geosciences Departments, Southwest Solar Technologies and NCS Consultants)
  2. Compressed-Air Energy Storage Systems for Stand-Alone Off-Grid Photovoltaic Modules – Krishna Muralidharan, Pierre A. Deymier and Deorge Frantziskonis (MSE and CEEM Departments)
  3. Large Capacity Heat Storage for Extended Operation of a Solar Thermal Power Plant – Peiwen Li, Jon Van Lew, Cholik Chan, Larry Sobel, Jake Stephens (AME Department and US Solar)
  4. Integrating Super-Capacitors With Solar Cells for Improved Efficiency – J. Brews, D. F. Gervasio, J. Gustafson, J. Lee, O. A. Palusinski (ECE Department, School of Materials @ ASU)
  5. A Scalable Solar Electrolyzer for Distributed Hydrogen Generation – Linan Jiang, Brian Meyer, Karen Tellefsen and Stanley Pau (Optical Sciences College and Cookson Electronics)


  1. SEED[pod] Solar Energy Efficient Dwellings – UA Solar Decathlon Team (12 students and 6 faculty)
  2. The Urban Concept Car – UA Solar Racing Car Team (11 students and 3 faculty)